Fluffy Blueberry Scones

I haven’t baked in a while and was craving scones, so what better than to get back into it by starting with that! I decided to make some blueberry scones but I did gluten-free(so my boyfriend could have some) and these do not taste any different than if you were using regular flour.

Ingredients:
1 3/4 cups gluten-free flour mix
1/3 cup organic sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup cold butter
2 cup fresh blueberries
2 large eggs
1/3 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

To start on these scones, I first mixed the dry ingredients in a large bowl (gluten free flour mix, sugar, baking powder, xanthan gum and salt.) After, I added the 1/2 cup of butter, 2 eggs, 1/3 cup of milk and the teaspoon of vanilla extract. I whipped everything together until it was thoroughly blended and then I added my 2 cups of fresh blueberries.

scones2

Next, I took a baking sheet with parchment paper and separated the mixture into two sections but- you can do three if you prefer because this is then going into the freezer! (The mix is going to be very sticky so placing it into a cooler area will help it settle and be easier to cut.) For the freezer- I let it sit for about 15 minutes, if you decide to place it in the fridge I would recommend doubling the time. Set your oven to 400 degrees.

Once the time has passed to let it cool, gently flatten out the sections you have made and then cut into smaller portions (circles or triangle cuts are best in my opinion.) I decided to go with triangles to give them more of a scone feel. I baked these for about 15 minutes which gave them a perfect fluffy texture. If you prefer the classic scone, which has a bit of a hardened side to it, you should bake for a little bit longer, but don’t forget them!

scones

Once I took them out of the oven I sprinkled sugar on them and set them aside to let cool, voila!

2 thoughts on “Fluffy Blueberry Scones

Leave a comment